A collection of Renaissance art, European antiques and Asian collectibles, situated on nine acres of park and gardens along the famous Battenkill trout stream. Along the Battenkill in Shushan, the Georgi Museum and Park is a favorite site for catered gatherings or family picnics
Maria and William Georgi bought the river property in 1952 from a local resident, Clarence Jackson, who used the land for pasturing cows. The Georgi family built the house in 1955 for their son Henry. The house was not lived in until the mid 1980's after Henry's death; his widow Jessie was the only Georgi family member to establish residence on this site. It was the wish of both Henry and Jessie Georgi that the property be given to the people in the community of Shushan and the town of Salem. It is with great pride that we establish a Museum and Park center for all the people to enjoy.
The art collection is comprised of Italian, Dutch, Flemish, German and French paintings from the fourteenth through the eighteenth centuries. Chinese and Asian tapestries and Oriental figurines are an added display attraction.
Stained glass windows in the Lending Reading Library add much attraction to the sunlight room. One of the panels of glass is based on a woodcut by Hans Weidtz. The Lending Reading Library overlooks the trout stream. One may enjoy browsing through the many books on site or may choose to borrow books for home reading.
Mineral Collection: from Amethyst to Zircon. The Georgi Museum boasts of an extensive and complete collection with samples from as far away as South Africa. Henry Georgi, an engineering geologist, pieced together a personal collection which would make any rock enthusiast envious.
The grounds consist of nine acres, part of which was originally landscaped by the Georgi family. The remaining acres will soon be developed into a recreational and picnic area. The Battenkill winds around the southwestern perimeter, providing a beautiful natural setting.